The Jens Wærhaug prize

Status of The Jens Wærhaug Research Prize

The Jens Wærhaug Research Prize was instituted in 1996 by the Scandinavian Society of Periodontology (ScSP) to honor a distinguished periodontist Jens Wærhaug.
The objective of the prize is to stimulate high-quality periodontal research by scientists in Nordic countries.
The Jens Wærhaug Research Prize winner is selected by the Jens Wærhaug Research Prize Committee of three judges appointed by the ScSP Board. During the selection process, the judges take into account the candidates’ dedication to innovative periodontal research and its profitability.
The Prize winner will present a lecture of his/her research theme in connection to a ScSP Congress and his/her expenses are covered by the Society. The winner is awarded with a prize of 2000 euros and a metal plaque to commemorate Jens Wærhaug.

Previous winners of the award:

  • 2022: Prof. Palle Holmstrup, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 2019: Prof. Øystein Fardal, Honorary Professor, University of Aberdeen & Priivate Practice Egersund, Norway
  • 2017: Prof. Sirkka Asikainen, Professor Emerita, Umeå University, Sweden & Adjunct Professor, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • 2013: Prof. Mogens Kilian, Aarhus University, Denmark
  • 2010: Prof. Timo Sorsa, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • 2007: Prof. Stefan Renvert, Kristianstad University, Sweden

ScSP Young Researcher Award

Scandinavian Society of Periodontology grants Young Researcher Award to one (or two) young oral/poster presenters during its bi-annual congress.

Previous winners of the award:

  • 2022: Not presented
  • 2019: Aino Salminen, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • 2017: Gökhan Kasnak, University of Turku, Finland
  • 2013: Christian Damgaard, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 2011: Mervi Gursoy, University of Turku, Finland
  • 2010: Anna Passoja, University of Oulu, and, Ulvi Gürsoy, University of Turku, Finland

Don't hesitate to contact us!